Libertà. L’aria fresca. Tranquillità. Feel the freedom by the snowy peaks.

There are people who dream about a life by the sea, in a warm place where you can feel the humid fresh air and see the infine blue sea. And then there are the ones who adore the mighty mountain peaks, topped with snow and offering incredibly beautiful paroramas. And of course you can love both of them, like I do! However, mountains have a special importance for me. I did not grew up by them but I’ve skied since I was 2,5 years old and every year since I was 4 years old I have spent at least one week of my holidays in mountains.

For me these beautiful creatures of nature represent the feeling of freedom and offer a relaxing effect that I cannot experience anywhere else.

In the previous post I mentioned that I wanted to present ten most memorable moments that are related to my trips this year. The first one was the famous horse race Palio di Siena and the second one is: The slope number 7, ”ventina”, in early morning, in Cervinia, in Italy.

Ventina is one of the most famous ski slopes of Matterhorn and it is located in the skiing area of Breuil-Cervinia, in Valle d’Aosta in Italy. This slope is 11 kilometers long, difference in height is ca. 1500 meters, and its starting point is at Plateau Rosa at 3480 meters.

Think about the feeling when you take the first ride up and arrive at the top when the sun is still rising, air is cold and fresh and you can just admire beauty of the surrounding mountains. The slope is untouched, almost empty and offers an unspeakably beautiful view from its start point.

Ok, freeriding is completely another issue, that cannot be compared to skiing in the slopes. But, if I should choose one slope to ski in Europe it would definitely be this one, Ventina.

Cervinia

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

